The Fayette County Solid Waste Authority (FCSWA) is a county-level government organization established in 1992, tasked to protect the public health and welfare by developing and implementing a comprehensive program of solid waste collection, handling, recycling, and disposal.

Partnering with the West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection (WVDEP) and the West Virginia Division of Highways (WVDOH), The Fayette County Solid Waste Authority (FCSWA) is active in multiple programs that help curb and manage waste and pollution in Fayette County and surrounding areas.


The FCSWA is administered by an elected board comprised of five members who are appointed as follows: one by the director of the Division of Environmental Protection, two by the county commission, one by the board of supervisors for the soil conservation district in which the county is situated and one by the chairman of the Public Service Commission. The members of the board are appointed for terms of four years.